Ashok Gehlot sworn-in as the CM of Rajasthan; Pilot as his deputy

Congress leaders Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot were sworn-in as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan, respectively, at the front lawn of famous Albert Hall Museum on Monday.

The Governor of Rajasthan, Kalyan Singh, administered the oath of office and Constitution to Gehlot and Pilot at a special swearing-in ceremony.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi and the top leaders of the Opposition parties’ ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (grand alliance) were present.

This swearing in was the first of the three scheduled for today – Kamal Nath will take oath in Madhya Pradesh and Bhupesh Baghel in Chhattisgarh – after the Congress wrested the three states from the Bharatiya Janata Party a week ago.

ALSO READ: Congress party all geared up as three CMs take oath today

Congress president Rahul Gandhi, who attended the Rajasthan swearing-in, will also be present in the oath-taking ceremonies functions in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh as well.

This is the third time Gehlot has become the Rajasthan chief minister, with earlier stints in 1998-2003 and 2008-2013.

Former prime minister Manmohan Singh and the former chief minister of Rajasthan Vasundhara Raje also attended the function.

ALSO READ: Setback for Congress as Sajjan Kumar gets life sentence in 1984…

Opposition leaders, including Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, Karnataka chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy, Andhra Pradesh CM N. Chandrababu Naidu, National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah, Janata Dal (Secular) chief H.D. Devegowda, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Hemant Soren, Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Tejashwi Yadav and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagham’s Kanimozhi and M.K. Stalin, were also present at the swearing-in.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here