Battle for States: Chhattisgarh Records 59.19% Voter Turnout, Mizoram 69.86% By 3 PM | UPDATES

New Delhi: Polling for the Mizoram Assembly began along with first phase of the Chattisgarh Assembly Elections on Tuesday morning, the counting of which is scheduled on December 3.


  • Mizoram recorded 69.86 percent polling, while 59.19 percent of voter turnout was witnessed in Chhattisgarh till 3 pm in the first phase of polling, according to Election Commission data.

  • Chhattisgarh witnessed a 44.55% voter turnout, while Mizoram recorded a 52.73% turnout of registered voters till 1 p.m.

  • Voting for the first phase of the Chattisgarh Assembly Elections, involving 20 seats in the state’s southern region, began on Tuesday.
  • Polling started at 7 a.m. for ten seats, which include Mohla-Manpur, Antagarh, Bhanupratappur, Kanker, Keshkal, Kondagaon, Narayanpur, Dantewada, Bijapur and Konta.
  • The polling for the remaining assembly constituencies, which include Pandaria, Kawardha, Khairagarh, Dongargarh, Rajnandgaon, Dongargaon, Khujji, Bastar, Jagdalpur, and Chitrakote, will commence at 8 a.m. and continue until 5 p.m.
  • The state of Chhattisgarh is undergoing elections in two phases, with the second phase scheduled for November 17.
  • 20 constituencies in Chhattisgarh, which has a 90-member house, are set for the polls on Tuesday, including 12 from the Bastar division.
  • There are a total of 223 candidates in the fray for 20 seats in Chhattisgarh. 5304 voting booths have been set up by the election commission for this phase. There are 40 lakh, 78 thousand, and 681 voters in this phase. Of these, there are 19 lakh, 93 thousand, 937 male voters and 20 lakh, 84 thousand, 675 female voters.
  • Voting is being held in constituencies that are Naxal affected and fall in districts like Bastar, Dantewada, Kanker, Kabeerdham, and Rajnandgaon.
  • As per the data from the Election Commission of India, in the election to the 90-member assembly, a total of 2,03,80,079 crore voters, including 19,839 service voters, will be able to exercise their franchise.
  • Meanwhile in Mizoram, a total of 174 candidates are in the fray.
  • According to the CEO Mizoram, the total number of electors in Mizoram stands at 8,51,895. Out of which 4,12,969 are male, 4,38,925 are female and 1(one) third gender. There are a total of 4,973 service voters in Mizoram.
  • First-time voters who are in the age group 18-19 years stand at 50,611. The sex ratio of voters in Mizoram is 1,063. The electoral population (EP) ratio stands at 63.27. The total number of polling stations is 1276, out of which 525 fall in urban areas and 751 in rural areas.
  • As many as 2,058 votes have been cast through home voting and 7,497 votes through postal ballots at designated facilitation centres for the Mizoram Assembly elections.
  • The 40-member state assembly is the only poll-bound state where the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are not the primary contenders.
  • In the 2018 assembly elections, the Mizo National Front (MNF) secured 26 seats with a vote share of 37.8% and emerged victorious defeating the 10-year-old Congress government.

If you want to fact-check any story, WhatsApp it now on +91 11 7127 9799

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here