India Clinches Eighth Asia Cup Title, Breaking Records Along the Way

(Image: BCCI)

New Delhi: The fireworks have begun in Colombo as India clinches the Asia Cup for the eighth time across formats. All credit goes to the Indian fast bowling lineup, especially Mohammed Siraj, whose exceptional spell led India to bowl out Sri Lanka for just 50 runs.

It was a rather straightforward task for the batsmen as they stepped out to chase down 51 runs. Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill strode in to open the innings and effortlessly secured the victory for India in just 6.1 overs, without losing a single wicket. Kishan contributed 23 runs off 18 balls, while Gill added 27 runs off 19 balls to the scoreboard.

This remarkable victory has rewritten the record books on multiple fronts. India’s triumph in the ODI finals stands out as the most dominant ever, with an astounding 263 balls to spare, marking the largest winning margin by balls in ODI history.

Additionally, it’s a historic moment for Indian cricket, as this resounding win with 263 balls left is the biggest victory ever achieved by the Indian ODI team. Furthermore, it’s worth noting that this 10-wicket victory in a final match has only occurred three times in the history of the sport.

The Indian bowling lineup delivered an exceptional performance, setting several records during their outstanding spell. Notably, this match witnessed the lowest total ever recorded in an ODI final, marked a historic low in ODI totals against India, and ranked as the second lowest ODI total ever achieved by Sri Lanka. Furthermore, this remarkable feat made history by being only the second instance in Asia Cup ODI history where all ten wickets in an innings were claimed by pacers.

The Indian bowlers completely dominated the Sri Lankan side with their outstanding performance, particularly the Indian seamers, who wreaked havoc. It was an absolute nightmare for Sri Lanka, as they were dismissed for a mere 50 runs in 15.2 overs at the R. Premadasa International Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Jasprit Bumrah set the match up with an early wicket in the first over. Following that, Mohammed Siraj delivered a devastating blow to the Sri Lankan top order, dismantling it in a single over.

In a remarkable display of bowling prowess, Mohammed Siraj left the Sri Lankan side in shambles, securing their lowest-ever total against India. Siraj’s performance was nothing short of spectacular, as he claimed an astonishing six-wicket haul, conceding just 21 runs in seven overs. His performance ranks as the second-best by a bowler in the Asia Cup finals, with four of those six wickets falling in a single over.

Notably, Siraj etched his name in history as the only Indian player to achieve the remarkable feat of taking four wickets in a single over.

The Sri Lankan batting lineup faced significant challenges in scoring runs against the Indian fast bowling attack. Kusal Mendis was the highest run-scorer for them but managed just 17 runs. Additionally, five of their batters were dismissed without scoring any runs.

Siraj dismissed Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Dasun Shanaka.

Meanwhile, Hardik Pandya made a significant contribution, claiming three wickets as he dismissed Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, and Matheesha Pathirana. Jasprit Bumrah also joined the wicket-taking spree, securing the dismissal of Kusal Perera.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (w), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (w), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here