Siddaramaiah To Be Named Next Karnataka CM, DK Shivakumar His Deputy

Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah (L) & Karnataka Congress Chief DK Shivakumar (R) (Photo: ANI)

New Delhi: Ending the ongoing suspense, the Congress high command has finalised senior leader Siddaramaiah as the next Chief Minister of Karnataka.

This comes after three days of a cliffhanger between two party stalwarts – DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah after an emphatic 135-seat win in the May 10 Karnataka Assembly polls.

All you need to know about Siddaramaiah, the next Karnataka CM

  • Born on August 12, 1948, the 75-year-old Siddaramaiah joined the grand old party in 2006 after his ouster from JD(S) of former Prime Minister Deve Gowda.
  • Making his debut in the Assembly in 1983, Siddaramaiah got elected from Chamundeshwari on a Lok Dal Party ticket. He has won five times from this constituency and tasted defeat thrice. The former CM of Karnataka tasted defeat in the 1989 and 1999 Assembly elections.
  • He was also Chairman of the KPCC Publicity Committee of Elections in 2008.
  • Speaking of his education, Siddaramaiah graduated from Mysore University with B.Sc. Degree and later he studied Law.

Swearing in on May 20

Siddaramaiah’s swearing-in is likely to take place on Saturday (May 20).

The Congress made a stunning comeback in Karnataka, ousting the BJP. The grand old party bagged 135 seats, while the ruling BJP managed to bag just 66.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here