Carolyn Bertozzi, Morten Meldal And K. Barry Sharpless Win 2022 Nobel Prize For Chemistry

The 2022 Nobel prize in chemistry was jointly awarded to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless on Wednesday for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry, at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The award is presented to the trio for developing “an ingenious tool for building molecule”, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in Stockholm.

“The 2022 #NobelPrize laureates in chemistry Barry Sharpless and Morten Meldal have laid the foundation for a functional form of chemistry – click chemistry – in which molecular building blocks snap together quickly and efficiently,” the Nobel Committee said in a tweet.

Johan Åqvist, Chair of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry before awarding the prize said, “This year’s Prize in Chemistry deals with not overcomplicating matters, instead working with what is easy and simple. Functional molecules can be built even by taking a straightforward route.”

The Nobel panel gave the award to physicists Benjamin List and David WC MacMillan last year for discovering an ingenious and environmentally friendly way of creating molecules that is already greatly benefiting humankind.

Monday marked the beginning of the Nobel Prize announcements,  Thursday’s awards will focus on literature. The economics prize will be awarded on Monday, while the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here