KL Rahul To Lead Team India In Zimbabwe, Shikhar Dhawan Named His Deputy

Pic Credit: BCCI/Twitter

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named Indian batsman KL Rahul as the captain for the side in the upcoming Zimbabwe Tour. Shikhar Dhawan will join the squad as vice-captain.

BCCI in a statement added that “The BCCI Medical Team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy.”

KL Rahul was earlier ruled out from the West Indies series after testing positive for COVID. Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah were not included in the squad for the Zimbabwe Tour. The tour is set to begin on August 18 with three ODI games.

The Indian squad includes: KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here