Washington: Meta announced the latest privacy features on its messaging platform WhatsApp that enable users to block screenshots and hide their activity status.
The latest updates on WhatsApp include:
No Screenshots for View Once Messages: In the latest addition to View Once feature like Instagram or Snapchat for sharing pictures and videos. Now users can block people from taking screenshots of the media shared.
Exit Groups Without Notification: Are you bombarded with texts and unwanted images shared in a group? But you can’t leave the group in fear of offending people?
Only two days to delete a message: Users of WhatsApp will no longer have just one hour to delete a message after sending it. With this update, users will have more than two days. According to The Verge, to start using the new feature right now, open up the WhatsApp group or individual chat where you sent the message(s). Make sure to tap and hold the content you want to get rid of, click “Delete,” and then select either “Delete for everyone” or “Delete for me.”
Hide your online status: While users were able to hide their ‘last seen’ status on WhatsApp, they will now be able to hide their ‘online’ status from their contacts as well now. WhatsApp will now allow its users to choose whom they want to share their ‘Online’ status with. This feature will add a new ‘Who can see when I’m online’ option under the ‘last seen’ settings. It will give the users two options – ‘Everyone’ and ‘Same as Last Seen.’
(With Agency Inputs)