Who Is IPS Officer Sanjay Arora, New Commissioner of Delhi Police: 10 Points

Photo Credit: ANI

Sanjay Arora was appointed as Delhi Police Commissioner, as incumbent Rakesh Asthana retires on Sunday. Arora is currently serving as DG of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

Who is IPS officer Sanjay Arora?

  • Sanjay Arora is an officer of the Indian Police Services (IPS) from the 1989 batch of the Tamil Nadu cadre.
  • Arora is currently the Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Force.
  • He is all set to take charge as the Delhi Police chief from August 1.
  • He graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur (Rajasthan).
  • After joining the IPS, he served in various capacities in Tamil Nadu Police. He was Superintendent of Police (SP), Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded CM’s Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action.
  • In 1991, Arora, after being trained by NSG, had a pivotal role in forming the Special Security Group (SSG) to provide security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the heyday of LTTE activity. He also served as the Superintendent of Police of various districts of TN.
  • He served in the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002. He commanded a border guarding ITBP Battalion in Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000. As an instructor, he had made remarkable contributions in the field of training, serving as Commandant (Combat Wing) at the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002.
  • He served as Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore city from 2002 to 2004. He has also served as Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram range and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.
  • He has served as IG (Special Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF and IG Operations CRPF. He has served as ADG HQ & Ops CRPF and Spl DG J&K Zone CRPF before being appointed as DG, ITBP.
  • He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal, Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here