Opposition To Field Common Candidate In Presidential Election

Image Source: Twitter

New Delhi: Leaders of various Opposition Parties that held a meeting on Wednesday decided to field a common candidate for the upcoming Presidential elections slated on 18th July.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee while addressing the press conference said that “Several parties were here today. We’ve decided we will choose only one consensus candidate. Everybody will give this candidate our support. We will consult with others. This is a good beginning. We sat together after several months, and we will do it again,”.

According to reports, Opposition leaders wanted Sharad Pawar to be the candidate for the Presidential elections but he has not accepted the offer.

Leaders from 17 political parties attended the crucial meeting convened by TMC Chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee at the Constitution Club, to build a consensus on fielding a joint candidate against NDA.

TMC, Congress, CPI, CPI(M), CPIML, RSP, Shiv Sena, NCP, RJD, SP, National Conference, PDP, JD(S), DMK, RLD, IUML, and JMM were present at the meeting.

(With Agency Inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here