Google Translate Adds Eight Indian Languages Including Sanskrit

Image Source: Google

New Delhi: Google Translate has added 24 new languages including eight Indian languages like Sanskrit, Bhojpuri, Assamese, Maithili, and Dogri.

The announcement was made at the Annual Google Conference I/O.

Google Translate, after the recent additions, can now translate into 133 languages around the globe. The company highlighted that these additions will facilitate the lives of over 300 million daily users.

According to Google, Sanskrit is used by around 20,000 people on a daily basis as a medium of exchanging information and messages. Bhojpuri is used by over 50 million people in north India and Nepal.

Meanwhile, Mizo is used by over 8,30,000 people on a daily basis in the far northeast region of India.

The conference also included some major announcements like Google Wallets, a one-stop destination to keep credit card details, vaccination certificates, student IDs, and digital car keys. Google also launched Pixel 6a, a mid-range version of Pixel 6. The phone has a Tensor Chip for enhancing the multitasking ability of the device.

The event also gave a quick look at the upcoming Pixel 7 and Pixel 7 Pro versions scheduled to be launched later this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here