AAP Nominates Harbhajan Singh, Raghav Chadha To Rajya Sabha

AAP Nominates Harbhajan Singh, Raghav Chadha, Dr Sandeep Pathak, Ashok Mittal and Sanjiv Arora to Rajya Sabha From Punjab

After a thumping victory in Punjab Assembly polls, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has nominated former cricketer Harbhajan Singh and Delhi MLA Raghav Chadha to Rajya Sabha from Punjab on Monday.

AAP has also nominated Dr Sandeep Pathak, Ashok Mittal and Sanjiv Arora to the upper house of the parliament from Punjab as the tenure of five sitting Punjab MLAs is coming to an end on April 9.

Harbhajan made his debut in 1998 and the last international match he played was in 2016 but his official retirement was announced in 2021.

Chadha is an MLA from Delhi’s Rajinder Nagar and the party’s co-incharge in Punjab.

Punjab, Mar 21 (ANI): File photo of AAP leader Raghav Chadha with Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, who is named for Rajya Sabha by the party from Punjab, on Monday. (ANI Photo)

Pathak camped in Punjab for nearly three years and formed an organization at the booth level. Ashok Mittal who is chancellor of Lovely Professional University (LPU) is known for his work in the field of education and Sanjiv Arora is the founder of Krishna Pran Breast Cancer Care Charitable Trust, Sanjiv Arora to Rajya Sabha.

AAP swept the recent state Assembly elections securing 92 of the 117-member House.

The five Punjab vacancies are arising due to the term of the following Rajya Sabha MPs ending on April 9. The last day for filing the nominations is Monday.

Congress leaders Partap Singh Bajwa and SS Dullo, BJP’s Shwait Malik, SAD’s Naresh Gujral and SS Dhindsa from SAD-Sanyukt are the five Rajya Sabha MPs whose term is approaching the end.

In all, Punjab has seven seats in the Upper House.

The term of SAD’s Balwinder Singh Bhunder and Congress leader Ambika Soni, who are also Rajya Sabha MPs from Punjab, will end on July 4. Elections to these two seats would be held later this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here