Twelve Opposition MPs Suspended From Rajya Sabha, Opposition Condemns It

Visulas from Rajya Sabha (Pic credit: Sansad TV)

 Twelve Opposition MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the rest of the Winter Session for their “unruly behavior’’ during the last Monsoon Session.

The official notice said: “This House takes cognizance and strongly condemns the utter disregard to the authority of the Chair, complete abuse of rules of the House persistently thereby wilfully obstructing the business of House through their unprecedented acts of misconduct, contemptuous, unruly and violent behavior and intentional attacks on security personnel on the last day of 254th Session of Rajya Sabha i.e. August 11.”

The action drew condemnation from the leaders of the Opposition parties who described it as “unwarranted and undemocratic’’ and in violation of all the rules of Procedure of Rajya Sabha.

The motion moved by the Government for suspending the members in regard to the unfortunate incident that occurred in the previous session is unprecedented and violates the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business of the Council of States.

The floor leaders of Opposition parties of Rajya Sabha will meet on Tuesday to deliberate on the future course of action to resist the authoritarian decision of the Government and defend Parliamentary democracy.

As many as 14 parties, including the Congress, Samajwadi Party, Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party, CPI, CPI(M), Aam Aadmi Party, are associated with the statement.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here