ICC T20 World Cup Begins: Here’s Everything You Need To Know

Pic courtesy: @T20WorldCup

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup returned On Sunday, October 17, as 16 teams duke it out for supremacy in the game’s shortest format.

It kicked off at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground and is scheduled to finish on November 14 in Dubai when the tournament’s two best teams meet in a decider that has plenty to live up to after 2016’s epic conclusion.

Here’s everything you need to know about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021:

The tournament format

This year’s Men’s T20 World Cup takes place in three stages. It all begins with the first round in which eight teams are split into two pools, from whom the top two will qualify for the Super 12 where they will join the world’s top eight sides.

Among the first-round sides are Sri Lanka, who have played and won more matches in ICC men’s T20 World Cup history than any other team, and Bangladesh, the other ever-present among the eight.

Bangladesh will be in action on the opening day against Scotland, but it all kicks off with hosts Oman taking on debutants Papua New Guinea at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium.

Those four sides are in Group B, while in Group A, Ireland and Netherlands face off in a potentially crucial match on Monday, with Sri Lanka going up against Namibia later in the day.

With 12 games across the first six days, the action will come thick and fast to decide which teams will make it through to the Super 12 where Group 1 looks like a blockbuster with defending champions, the West Indies, reigning one-day world champions England, and heavyweights Australia and South Africa.

They will be joined by the winners of Group A and the runners-up in Group B.
Meanwhile, in Group 2, inaugural winners India are joined by great rivals Pakistan — who they will face in their opening game — as well as New Zealand and Afghanistan, the emerging force in T20 cricket, plus the winners of Group B and runners-up from Group A.

ICC T20 World Cup Groups

Round 1

  • Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia.
  • Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman.

Super 12s

  • Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, and B2.
  • Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2, and B.

The Super 12 action kicks off on October 23 with Australia against South Africa, one of the sport’s iconic rivalries, followed by a day/night affair at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium between England and the West Indies — a repeat of 2016 final when Carlos Brathwaite announced himself to the world.

By November 10, it will be down to just four teams, with the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi playing host to the first semi-final, while the Dubai International Cricket Stadium hosts the second as well the final on November 14.


Click here for every squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021


Click here for Men’s T20WC Fixtures

Where to watch?

The Disney+ Hotstar app will allow cricket fans in India to watch all of the action. Indians can also live stream on Jio TV and Airtel TV.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here