West Bengal Elections LIVE: 79.08 % Voter Turnout Recorded Till 6 pm; EC Puts Curbs On Campaigning

Voters show inked fingers after casting their vote

West Bengal recorded an approximate voter turnout of 79.08 per cent till 6 pm across 43 constituencies in four districts during the sixth phase of the state assembly polls, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Meanwhile, the poll watchdog announced some restrictions on campaigning, saying no public rallies, foot marches or roadshows can be held in Bengal for the last two rounds of the assembly elections.

Among the four districts, Nadia recorded the highest voter turnout of 82.70 per cent till 6 pm. Constituency-wise, Tehatta in the Nadia district recorded the highest voting turnout of 84.84 per cent followed by Chapra with 84.71 per cent.

Barrackpore constituency in North24 Parganas witnessed the lowest voter turnout with 67 per cent. Voting for the sixth phase of West Bengal assembly polls began at 7 am on Thursday amid tight security and will conclude at 6 pm.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today said he will skip his visit to poll-bound West Bengal on Friday as he would be chairing a high-level meeting on the prevailing Covid situation.

He will address people of West Bengal through a virtual medium at 5 pm tomorrow. Earlier, he was scheduled to address 4 rallies across 4 districts and 56 assembly constituencies in the state.

Voting for the sixth phase of West Bengal assembly polls began at 7 am on Thursday amid tight security.

West Bengal, April 01 (ANI): An elderly woman shows her finger marked with indelible ink after casting vote outside a polling station during the second phase of West Bengal Assembly polls, in Nandigram on Thursday. (ANI Photo)

Film director-turned-TMC candidate from Barrackpore Raj Chakraborty was gheraoed by BJP supporters, who accused him of influencing voters. Chakraborty however denied all allegations.

In Amdanga constituency, police recovered country-made crude bombs.

In Raiganj, TMC alleged that one of its workers was allegedly stabbed by BJP workers and suffered serious injuries. BJP however denied the allegations.

Reports of sporadic violence also came in from Bijpur constituency in North 24 Parganas district, where TMC and BJP workers clashed outside polling booths over allegations of vote manipulation and rigging. Two TMC supporters and three BJP were reportedly injured in the clashes.

In the Halisahar area of Naihati constituency, the saffron party alleged that bombs were hurled at the residence of a local BJP leader. His mother and younger brother are known to have suffered injuries. The TMC and the BJP traded charges against each other.

BJP national Vice President Mukul Roy cast his vote at booth number 141 at Kanchrapara Municipal Polytechnic High School in Kanchrapara of North 24 Parganas district. West Bengal BJP Vice President Arjun Singh and his son and party’s candidate from Bhatpara, Pawan Singh cast their votes at booth number 144 in Jagatdal of North 24 Parganas.

“The people of West Bengal are voting to elect a new assembly. On the sixth phase today, urging those whose seats are polling to exercise their franchise,” tweeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi ahead of polling.

As many as 306 candidates, including 27 women, are in the fray in this phase of the assembly elections where polling is being held in 43 constituencies in four districts.

Over 1.03 crore voters, including 50.65 lakh women and 256 of the third gender, will be deciding the fate of these candidates across 14,480 polling stations in the sixth phase. Among the 43 constituencies, nine are in Uttar Dinajpur, eight in Purba Bardhaman, nine in Nadia and 17 are in the North 24 Parganas district.

TMC and BJP are contesting all 43 seats. Congress, the Left parties and the Indian Secular Front have made a coalition and are contesting under the banner of Samyukta Morcha. Out of the 43 seats in this round, Congress has got 12 in its share, CPI(M) got 23, All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) got four and CPI has got two seats. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is also trying its luck and has fielded 37 candidates.

Polling for phases 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of the state elections took place on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, and April 17, respectively. Polling for the seventh and eighth phases will be held on April 26 and 29 respectively while the counting of votes will take place on May 2.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here