West Bengal Election LIVE: Voting For Phase 4 Ends With 76.16% Turnout

Pic: Twitter / CEO West Bengal

Polling for the fourth phase of the tightly-contested West Bengal Assembly elections ended on Saturday evening with a voter turnout of 76.16 per cent.

A total of 373 candidates contested for 44 constituencies across five districts – Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, South 24 Parganas, Hooghly and Howrah. Out of 373 candidates, 323 candidates were male and 50 candidates were female. Cooch Behar recorded the highest turnout among districts while Bhangar saw maximum voters among all constituencies.

After four people were killed in Sitalkuchi during the fourth phase of the Assembly elections, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee blamed Union Home Minister Amit Shah, calling him the main ‘conspirator’.

Speaking at a press conference in Siliguri, Banerjee said: “When BJP knows they are going to lose, and they will lose, that is why it’s assimilating all state governments to spread violence in Bengal.”

“Home Minister Amit Shah is completely responsible for today’s incident and he himself is the conspirator. I don’t blame central forces as they were working under the Home Minister’s order,” she said.

Banerjee also said that the Election Commission (EC) had changed many police officers without consulting the Trinamool Congress (TMC) government, adding that it had planned these attacks.

Trinamool Congress demanded the resignation of Union Home Minister Amit Shah while terming the incident as a conspiracy hatched by the latter.

The Election Commission has adjourned the poll at booth 125 of the Sitalkurchi assembly constituency.

The fourth phase of polling in West Bengal is marred by allegations of violence. CAPF personnel reportedly opened fire near Cooch Behar after coming under attack from locals. According to reports, 4 people are declared dead.

Central forces have alleged that a group of TMC workers had gheraoed the CISF jawans and were hampering polling.

This phase of the elections will witness an intense battle between 373 candidates in 44 constituencies of the state across five districts — Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, South 24 Parganas, Howrah and Hooghly.

Trinamool MP Derek O’ Brien has hit the BJP strongly and assured a sweeping victory.

Also, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress has written to Election Commission alleging that BJP goons are creating a ruckus outside several booths in Sitalkuchi, Natalbari, Tufanganj, and Dinhata and preventing TMC agents from entering the booth. TMC has asked the EC to take the necessary actions.

A total of 1,15,81,022 voters will participate in this phase, out of which 2,63,016 are first-time voters. The smallest constituency is Bally with 1,76,001 electorates whereas Chunchura is the biggest constituency with 3,13,701 electorates.

As many as 15,940 polling stations will be used, including 12,361 main and 3,579 auxiliary stations. Against the higher number of constituencies in this phase, security has also been beefed up in all 44 constituencies with a total of 900 companies of security forces deployed to ensure a peaceful election.

ITBP troops conducted night patrols before fourth phase polling in Chandannagar Assembly constituency in Hooghly district. Out of these, 140 companies of central forces are deployed in the nine Assembly seats in Howrah, 175 for Hooghly’s 19 seats, 185 for South 24 Parganas’ 11 seats, 105 coys in Alipurduar and 188 in the nine seats of Cooch Behar.

Live Updates : 

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here