Countries That Moved Into Lockdown In 2021

Representational Image

Amid the COVID-19 pandemic and with the emergence of new variants of the coronavirus strain, several countries, including Japan, UK, Australia and many others have adopted stricter restrictions in the first week of 2021.

Here are the lockdown updates

United Kingdom:

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson on January 4 imposed a new stay-at-home lockdown until at least mid-February to combat the sudden surge in coronavirus cases in England, which has been exacerbated by a highly transmissible new coronavirus variant. 


Germany has extended the nationwide lockdown until the end of January and introduced tougher, new restrictions in an effort to curb surging coronavirus infections, Chancellor Angela Merkel declared on Tuesday.


The Italian government has decided to extend coronavirus restrictions imposed during the Christmas holiday as the nation battles a surge in coronavirus cases. Italy’s Council of Ministers also approved a law that bans all travel within the country unless it is for health or work reasons.


On Thursday, Japan imposed Covid-emergency in Tokyo and other parts of the country. Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga said he’s considering issuing another state of emergency for the Tokyo area in light of the ”extremely severe” infection situation. Suga said Japan is working to start vaccinations in late February.


In Australia, Brisbane will enter a snap three-day lockdown after a cleaner in its hotel quarantine system became infected with the coronavirus. Authorities were concerned about a growing cluster of cases in western Sydney and had urged people with even the mildest of symptoms to come forward and get tested. Mask-wearing across Sydney is now mandatory in most indoor venues, as authorities try to contain other clusters across the city.


Denmark extended its ban on travelers arriving from the UK and also advised people against visiting the country due to fears over the new mutation of the coronavirus.The ban on travelers from the UK will last until 17 January, the ministry of justice in Copenhagen said in a statement on Sunday.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us onInstagram






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here