Party’s poor showing notwithstanding, JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar set to become Bihar CM

After JD(U)’s poor showing in the recently conducted Bihar polls, questions were being asked as to who would be NDA’s pick for the Chief Minister’s post. Some said, since the BJP emerged as a much stronger party in terms of vote share and seats won, the CM could be from the saffron camp.

But BJP has now confirmed that in keeping with its pre poll promise, Nitish Kumar would be the next Chief Minister.

Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi cleared the air and said, “Credit goes to PM Modi, Nitish Kumar and people of Bihar. They have given such a clear majority. We didn’t see any anger in people. The opposition raises such issues but the people voted for pro-incumbency. Nitish will be the next CM.”

Nitish Kumar also initiated the process of government formation by tendering his resignation to Governor Phagu Chauhan.

Also read: BJP sends strong message to Shiv Sena, TMC after winning Bihar elections

NDA in an informal meet on November 14 decided to organize a joint meeting of the legislative members on Sunday. According to sources, Nitish Kumar will be elected as the leader. The members would also discuss whether Sushil Kumar Modi will be replaced or there will be another deputy CM.

Shiv Sena in its mouthpiece Saamna lambasted Kumar and said, “BJP & RJD have got success in Bihar. In this Nitish Kumar and his party do not stand anywhere. The public has reprimanded Nitish Kumar, however, he has been pushed to the post of the Chief Minister, this is an insult of public opinion.”

Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) managed to win only 43 seats and came third in the list of all parties in terms of the number of seats. As per Election Commission, BJP won 74 seats, up from its tally of 53 in the previous assembly election. JDU’s tally dropped from 71 in 2015 to 43.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us onInstagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here