And The Winner Is: All You Need To Know About US Election Timeline

And who’s winning America? That’s the question topmost on people’s minds as polling day kicks in.

While millions have already cast their vote and political pundits are involved with last minute permutation and combination to decipher if Joe Biden will be the next claimant of White House or will it be Donald Trump once again, we sum up the key facts surrounding the high decibel electoral fight.

US PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION: ALL YOU NEED KNOW ABOUT TIMELINES & MORE

  • Most states in the United States will begin polling at 6 am EST (4:30 pm IST November 3). But, the first state to open voting is Vermont at 5 am EST (3:30 pm IST November 3). Voting closes by 9 pm EST (7:30 am IST November 4) in New York and North Dakota.
  • The first polls to close will do so at 7 pm EST (5:30 am IST on Tuesday). The last polls will close at 1 am ET (11:30 am IST) in Alaska.
  • Americans have already cast 93 million ballots including 33 million in-person votes and 58 million mail-in ballots, about two-thirds of the overall 2016 vote count of 138.8 million. About 239 million people are eligible to vote this year.
  • The counting of mail-in ballots could take days or weeks in some states – meaning a winner might not be declared in the hours after polls close on Tuesday.
  • Multiple poll surveys have put Joe Biden in the lead making it easier for him to achieve the 270 electoral votes needed to win the White House.
  • US elections are not determined in the 538-member Electoral College, with each candidate needing a majority of 270 to win the presidency.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here