71 constituencies set to vote in Bihar, take a look at key candidates in phase 1

The Bihar elections for 243 assembly seats will be held in three phases. The first phase that has 71 seats will go to polls on October 28 and results will be announced on November 10.
There are 16 districts in this phase with 1,064 candidates in the fray. Out of these many candidates, 153 are millionaires, and 328 have criminal records.
If affidavits are to be believed, 58 per cent candidates of the Mahagathbandhan are millionaires, whereas 60 per cent of candidates are crorepatis in NDA. The mahagathbandhan comprises of five parties spearheaded by the RJD and Congress is part of the team too.
 Here is a look at four key candidates that are steering the ship of Bihar polls:

ALSO READ: Politics and crime: One-third candidates of Bihar elections with heinous charges

Ram Narayan Mandal- He is the minister of revenue and land reforms in the Nitish regime. He has been renominated by the BJP. The Banka assembly seat has been favouring either BJP or RJD since 1990. Ram Naryan got a tough fight from the RJD candidate in 2015. Ram Naryan bagged 38 per cent votes, while RJD’s Zafrul Hoda bagged 35 per cent votes in 2015. Experts are predicting a neck-to-neck contest in the Banka assembly constituency this time.
Shreyasi Singh – Arjuna Awardee is the first woman CWG gold medallist of the Indian national team. She is contesting in the Bihar elections from the Jamui seat a BJP ticket. She wants to continue her political legacy. Her mother won the Lok Sabha election as an independent candidate from Banka in 2010 after the death of her father, who was an incumbent holding onto the seat. She is fighting against RJD’s Vijay Prakash, who has criminal cases against him. She has been vocal against crimes related to women.
Anant Singh – He is the richest candidate in the first phase with assets worth Rs 68 crore. He also has serious and heinous criminal charges against him and is currently lodged in Beur central jail. RJD is fielding him from the Mokama assembly seat. Kumar, who is seeking re-election for the fifth consecutive term, will contest against JDU’s Rajiv Lochan Singh. He started off his political stint from the JD(U) in 2005 when the party was in alliance with the BJP.
Vibha Devi – RJD candidate is the wife of rape convict Ballabh Yadav. She is contesting from the Nawada assembly seat. Rajavallabh Yadav had won from Nawada in 2015 by defeating Indradeo Prasad. However, Yadav was sentenced to life imprisonment in 2018 in a rape case. She will be contesting against JD(U)’s sitting MLA Kaushal Yadav.
The contest is heating up, the political swords are out and the key candidates are using their political might to garner votes. With criminal cases against some key candidates or their family members, what are the factors that voters will choose in their candidates and parties when they cast their votes in the ballot box?

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow  us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here