National Sports Awards 2020: Rohit Sharma bags Khel Ratna; here’s the full list of awardees

Rohit Sharma (file image)

The Indian Sports Ministry on Friday announced the final list of awardees of the National Sports Awards 2020. Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

The five Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna —  India’s highest sporting honour — winners for the year 2020 would be star cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, Paralympic gold-winner Mariyappan Thangavelu, TT player Manika Batra, and women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal.

Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years

S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Rohit Sharma Cricket
Shri Mariyappan T. Para Athletics
Ms. Manika Batra Table Tennis
Ms. Vinesh Wrestling
Ms. Rani Hockey


ALSO READ: Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar appointed new Election Commissioner

Arjuna Award is given for consistent outstanding performance for four years.

Dronacharya Award goes to the coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events.

  1. Life- Time Category
S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
Shri Dharmendra Tiwary Archery
Shri Purushotham Rai Athletics
Shri Shiv Singh Boxing
Shri Romesh Pathania Hockey
Shri Krishan Kumar Hooda Kabaddi
Shri Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar Para Powerlifting
Shri Naresh Kumar Tennis
Shri Om Parkash Dahiya Wrestling


B.       Regular Category

S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
Shri Jude Felix Sebastian Hockey
Shri Yogesh Malviya Mallakhamb
Shri Jaspal Rana Shooting
Shri Kuldeep Kumar Handoo Wushu
Shri Gaurav Khanna Para Badminton



Dhyan Chand Award is for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Kuldip Singh Bhullar Athletics
Ms. Jincy Philips Athletics
Shri Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe Badminton
Ms. Trupti Murgunde Badminton
Ms. N. Usha Boxing
Shri Lakha Singh Boxing
Shri Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu Football
Shri Ajit Singh Hockey
Shri Manpreet Singh Kabaddi
Shri J. Ranjith Kumar Para Athletics
Shri Satyaprakash Tiwari Para Badminton
Shri Manjeet Singh Rowing
Late Shri Sachin Nag Swimming
Shri Nandan P Bal Tennis
Shri Netarpal Hooda Wrestling
S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Category
Ms. Anita Devi Land Adventure
Col. Sarfraz Singh Land Adventure
Shri Taka Tamut Land Adventure
Shri Narender Singh Land Adventure
Shri Keval Hiren Kakka Land Adventure
Shri Satendra Singh Water Adventure
Shri Gajanand Yadava Air Adventure
Late Shri Magan Bissa Life Time Achievement
1. Panjab University, Chandigarh
S. No. Category Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2020
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent
  1. Lakshya Institute
  2. Army Sports Institute
2. Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
3. Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures Air Force Sports Control Board
4. Sports for Development


International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)

National Sports Awards which include the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the Arjuna award, the Dronacharya award, and the Dhyan Chand award, are conferred on athletes every year by the President of India at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29, the National Sports Day.

However, this year, the names would be announced by President Ram Nath Kovind virtually due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here