Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar appointed new Election Commissioner

Pic: Rajiv Kumar (file image)

Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner. He will take charge on September 1.

“In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the president is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar (IAS retired) as the election commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Shri Ashok Lavasa, election commissioner who has resigned with effect August 31,” said the Law Ministry in a notification.

ALSO READ: Amid political row, Facebook India MD reiterates they are ‘transparent, open and non-partisan’

Kumar, a retired IAS officer of the 1984 batch from Jharkhand cadre, has been appointed in place of Ashok Lavasa, who had resigned earlier this week to join Philippines-based Asian Development Bank (ADB) as vice-president next month.

While Sunil Arora is the Chief Election Commissioner, the other Election Commissioner, aside from Kumar now, is Sushil Chandra.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here