NewsMobile Explainer: Why and how are Cyclones named?

Arctic observations could predict tropical cyclones

Cyclone Nisarga is about to make a landfall on the coasts of Maharashtra and Gujarat. It was only last week that Cyclone Amphan hit the coasts of Odisha and West Bengal.

How are these cyclones named and what is its significance?

NewsMobile explores these issues in its full totality.

Also Read: Telangana, the hi-tech state of India

How are cyclones named?

Throughout the world, there are six Regional Specialized Meteorological Centres (RSMC) and five Tropical Cyclone Warning centres (TCWS).

The Indian Meteorological Departments is one of the RCMC’s.

In the year 2000, countries forming part of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)/ Economic and Social Council for the Asia Pacific (UNESCAP) which comprise of Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand started sending names to the Tropical cyclone warning centres.

In 2018, Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Yemen joined.

These 13 nations have submitted 13 names each.

There are columns of these names and each name is used according to the order of submission.

Amphan was a name suggested by Thailand, Nisarga by Bangladesh.

The next cyclone will be named Gati, a name suggested by India.

How is this important?

Naming of cyclones is important to safeguard the people. The people will remember names rather than numbers.

It also helps the media and other agencies disseminate information easily.

This ultimately helps in carrying out mitigation measures and relief measures effectively.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here