Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray, eight others elected unopposed to Legislative Council

Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray (File Image)

Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and other eight candidates have been declared as elected unopposed as Member of Legislative Council on Thursday.

Election results declared as only nine nominations were filed for nine seats, all other candidates had withdrawn.

With this election, 59-year-old Thackeray, who is also the president of Shiv Sena, makes his debut as a legislator.

ALSO READ: Situations on LAC arose due to ‘difference in perception’: MEA

Apart from Thackeray, Council Deputy Chairperson Neelam Gorhe (Shiv Sena), four candidates of BJP – Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ramesh Karad; NCP’s Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Congress’s Rajesh Rathod were in the fray for the nine seats, which fell vacant on April 24.

He was sworn in as chief minister on November 28 last year and required to become a member of either house of the legislature before May 27.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here