Analyzing the 2020 American College Football Favorites

The American College Football season is still several months away. However, football fans who would usually get ramped up for the SuperBowl, are getting excited at the prospect of seeing their favorite teams compete for the NCAA Championship. We are going to take a look at who the early favorites are in the major conferences for this upcoming season. We are also going to look at who are the favorites for the Heisman Trophy along with the favorites to win the National Championship.

American College Football fans are also keeping an eye on the early odds that oddsmakers have come up with to see what teams may have a real shot at winning their conference in 2020.

1. The Atlantic Coast Conference

The ACC, of course, features the reigning Conference Champion and National Runner-up Clemson Tigers. Clemson has been one of the best teams in College Football for several years now. The won the National Championship after the 2018 College Football season and lost this past season in the National Championship to a great LSU team. Clemson is favorited to win the ACC again this upcoming season.

2. The Big 10 Conference

Ohio State is favorited to win the Big Ten in 2020, although rival Michigan is hot on their heels. Michigan improved tremendously in 2019 and was a contender in the Big Ten in 2019 until they met Ohio State in the last game of the year. If Michigan can continue to improve in 2020, it could set up an epic showdown with Ohio State in the regular-season finale.

3. The Big 12 Conference

The Oklahoma / Texas rivalry continues as Oklahoma is currently a slight favorite over Texas to win the Big 12 in 2020. Oklahoma is going to be tough to beat as they have won the previous five Big 12 titles and earned a berth to the College Football Playoffs last year. Oklahoma has lost QB Jalen Hurts, but keep an eye on Redshirt Freshman, and five-star recruit, Spencer Rattler to have a big season this year for the Sooners.

4. The Pacific 12 Conference

Oregon, Washington, and USC are projected all to have a very excellent chance to win the Pac-12 in 2020. The Oregon Ducks and Washington Huskies are projected to finish 1-2 in the North Division. Meanwhile, USC is projected to win the South Division. This would set up a very captivating Pac-12 Championship game.

5. The Southeastern Conference

The SEC has widely been considered the best conference in College Football over the last couple of decades. Although LSU won last year’s National Championship game, experts still have Alabama as the favorites to win the SEC Championship in 2020 as things stand now. Alabama didn’t do as well as LSU last year but has been the premier College Football program in the US over the past 15 years without question.

6. The Heisman Trophy

Both Ohio State Quarterback Justin Fields and Clemson Quarterback Trevor Lawrence are neck and neck as favorites to win the Heisman Trophy as the nation’s top College Football player in 2020. However, the young Oklahoma Quarterback Spencer Rattler is a close third. He is a bit of a “dark horse” pick as he hasn’t yet started a game for any College Football team. Experts still think very highly of him and his coach at Oklahoma, Lincoln Riley, who has been known to groom Heisman Trophy winners. Riley coached former Heisman Trophy winners Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray.

7. College Football National Championship

The current favorites to win the National Championship in 2020 include Clemson, Ohio State, and Alabama. In fact, those three teams have been in the mix nearly every season for the past five to ten years. The upcoming season appears to be no exception. All three teams look to be explosive and ready to impress.

Quarterback Trevor Lawrence will try to win his second National Championship in three years with the Clemson Tigers. Alabama, who won the 2018 National Championship, is the current favorite among all SEC teams to win the title next season. Ohio State is among the top three teams who are favorites to win the National Championship, however, they have not won the title since 2015.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here