Jharkhand Polls: Voting begins for second phase, CM Das among key candidates

The voting for the second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly election began on Saturday at 7 am. In this phase, voting is being conducted at 20 constituencies, including Jamshedpur East and Jamshedpur West.

Over 48 Lakh voters will be exercising their democratic franchise in 20 constituencies. Jharkhand’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Vinay Kumar Choubey has informed that 6,066 polling booths have been set-up to facilitate voting in the elections.

Due to security reasons, polling at 18 constituencies, barring Jamshedpur East and Jamshedpur West, will be held between 7:00 AM and 3:00. At the other two assembly seats, the voters can cast their votes till 5:00 PM.

Other constituencies where polling is being held – Khunti, Mandar, Sisai, Majhgaon, Manoharpur, Saraikela, Chaibasa, Baharagora, Ghatsila, Potka, Simdega, Kolebira, Kharsawaan, Tamar, Jagannathpur and Torpa.

ALSO READ: Unnao gang-rape victim who suffered 90% burns dies at Delhi’s Safdarjung hospital

Key candidates – Chief Minister Raghubar Das, who is contesting from Jamshedpur (East) seat. State assembly speaker Dinesh Oraon and BJP state unit chief Laxman Guila are also contesting in this phase of elections.

In the 81-member Assembly, polling is being held in five phases from November 30 to December 20. Voting for the third phase will be held on December 12. The results will be declared on December 23.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here