West Bengal bypoll results: Trinamool Congress wins all three seats

Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal bagged all the three Assembly seats where bypolls were held on November 25.

The TMC won the Kaliaganj, Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur bypolls.

ALSO READ: Pragya Thakur removed from Parliament’s defence panel after Godse remark

The BJP came second in all the three seats.

Tapan Deb Sinha of TMC won the Kaliaganj seat in a close contest, defeating his nearest BJP rival Kamal Chandra Sarkar by 2,418 votes, EC officials said.

TMC’s Pradip Sarkar wrested Kharagpur Sadar seat from BJP, which came as a shock for BJP as it was earlier held by the party’s State president Dilip Ghosh before he was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Medinipur seat.

Kharagpur Sadar in an Assembly segment in Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency.

The TMC candidate for Karimpur, Bimalendu Sinha Roy won by over 23,910 votes defeating his BJP rival Jaiprakash Majumdar.

TMC MP Mohua Mitra had bagged Karimpur in the last polls before she was elected to the Lok Sabha from Krishnanagar.

TMC’s Sinha Roy bagged 1,03,278 votes whereas his nearest rival Majumdar of BJP bagged 79,368 votes.

This is the first time that the TMC has bagged the Kaliaganj and Kharagpur seats.

The results have come as a huge encouragement to the TMC which faced competition from the BJP in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

West Bengal Chief Minister dedicated the party’s victory to the people and said the voters had “paid back” the BJP for its “arrogance of power”.

“We dedicate this victory to the people of Bengal. The BJP is getting paid back for its arrogance of power and for insulting the people of Bengal,” she told a TV news channel.

The CPI(M) and the Congress, instead of trying to strenghten themselves, are “helping” the BJP in West Bengal, she added.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here