Battle For States | LIVE updates: BJP-Sena set to return in Maharashtra, cliffhanger in Haryana

The counting of votes for Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections which started on Thursday morning is underway. Today, the fate of 4,407 candidates in the states of Maharashtra and Haryana will be decided. Voting for both the states was held on October 21.

Both the states are known for their ever-changing political dynamics, strong party preferences and complexities that make them nothing less than a potboiler in the political scenario of India.


Here’s the quick background of both states:


Since its inception in 1960, the politics of Maharashtra has been dominated by the Indian National Congress. The grand old party considered Maharashtra as their bastion and stalwarts such as Yashwantrao Chavan, Vasantdada Patil, Vasantrao Naik, and Shankarrao Chavan, Sharad Pawar (who later broke away from the Congress), were prominent names that helmed the party on its road to success.

The Congress party enjoyed a nearly unchallenged dominance of the state political landscape, until 1995 when the coalition of Shiv Sena and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured an overwhelming majority, beginning a period of coalition governments. After a series of collation governments, 2014 saw the return of BJP-Shiv Sena alliance to Maharashtra. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis-led governing coalition is aiming to retain power yet again in 2019.

Here is are some key details:

Total assembly seats: 288

Total candidates: 3239

Total no. voters: 8.9 crore

Total polling station: 96,661

No of seats each party is contesting

BJP – 164

Congress – 147

NCP – 121

Shiv Sena – 124

Key candidates:

Candidate Party Seat
Aaditya Thackeray Shiv Sena Worli
Chandrakant Patil BJP Kothrud
Ashok Chavan Congress Bhokar
Prithviraj Chavan Congress Karad South
 Devendra Fadnavis BJP Nagpur South-West
Ashish Deshmukh Congress Nagpur South-West
Ajit Pawar NCP Baramati
Pankaja Munde  BJP Parli
Sudhir Mungantiwar BJP  Ballarpur
Amit Deshmukh Congress Latur City
Dhiraj Deshmukh Congress Latur Rural
Rohini Khadse BJP Mukhtainagar



Richest candidate– Parag Shah of Ghatkopar East- Assets worth Rs 500.62 crores. He is the MD of Man Infra construction ltd.

Candidate with no assets– Janardan Parab has declared zero assets both movable and immovable. He is an independent candidate contesting from Charkop in Mumbai.

Maximum number of candidates in a constituency – 38 candidates from Nanded South

Minimum number of candidates in a constituency – 3 candidates from Chiplun

235 Women candidates are contesting in the assembly elections.

In 2014, the number of candidates who contested elections were 4119. A drop of approx 21% to 2019’s 3,239 candidates.


The state of Haryana was formed in 1966 with the capital in Chandigarh. Nearly 1.83 crore voters are eligible to exercise their right to vote with the number of seats in the Vidhan Sabha at 90.

A total of 74 political parties are contesting the elections in 2019, nearly twice the number of parties in 2014 when 43 parties contested against each other, according to a report issued by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

The main contest is seen between the ruling BJP and main opposition Congress on several seats.

Against the present Haryana CM, ML Khattar, Congress has fielded a little-known face Tarlochan Singh has been fielded.

Congress leader and two-time Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who is representing Garhi Sampla-Kiloi seat in Rohtak since 2005, is facing BJP’s Satish Nandal, who had earlier served as INLD”s district unit chief from Rohtak.

Other prominent opposition candidates include Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala, Kiran Choudhary and Kuldeep Bishnoi, who are seeking re-election from Kaithal, Tosham and Adampur, respectively.

For the BJP, two wrestlers Babita Phogat (Dadri in Charkhi Dadri) and Yogeshwar Dutt (Baroda in Sonipat) and former hockey captain Sandeep Singh (Pehowa in Kurukshetra) are in the race too.

Here is are some key details:

Total assembly seats: 90

Total candidates: 1,168

Total no voters: 1.83 crore

No of seats each party is contesting

BJP – 90

Congress- 84

Key candidates:

Candidate Party Seat
Manohar Lal Khattar BJP Karnal
Bhupinder Singh Hooda Congress Garhi Sampla-Kiloli
Randeep Singh Surjewala Congress Kaithal
Kiran Choudhary Congress Tosham
Babita Phogat BJP Charkhi Dadri
Yogeshwar Dutt BJP Sonipat
Gyan Chand Gupta BJP Panchkula
Ashim Goyal BJP Ambala City
Tej Bahadur Yadav JJP Karnal
Ghanshyam Das Arora BJP Yamunanagar
Kuldeep Bishnoi Congress Adampur



Richest candidate- Ritesh Khatana (Sohna constituency) Rs 325 Crores.

Candidate with lowest asset– Manoj Singh (Adampur) RS 5000. Independent

Total number of candidates– Over 1168

104 Women candidates are contesting these upcoming elections (9%) – BJP-12, INC-9, BSP-2, INLD-15, JJP-7

117 candidates with criminal cases (10%)

Educational Qualifications– 50% of candidates have completed education from Class 5 to class 12.

43% are graduates and above.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here