Congress names 5 candidates for UP Assembly bypolls

National Herald, Rahul Gandhi , Sonia Gandhi, Delhi High Court, Income Tax probe, Patiala House Court
File image

The Congress on Tuesday announced five candidates for the upcoming Assembly bypolls in Uttar Pradesh.

The Congress has fielded Nauman Masood from Gangoh, Dilpreet Singh from Lucknow Cantt, Ranjana Pandey from Manikpur and Neeraj Tripathi from Pratapgarh. While senior Congress leader PL Punia’s son Tanuj Punia will contest from Zaidpur constituency.

By-elections are due for 13 Assembly seats which fell vacant after most of sitting MLAs were elected to the Lok Sabha.

ALSO READ: Mulayam defends Azam Khan in land grab cases; accuses BJP of targeting him

Hamirpur will go to polls on September 23, while the Election Commission is yet to announce the schedule for other seats.

On the other hand, Congress president Sonia Gandhi has also approved the candidature of Devti Karma as party candidate for the ensuing by-election to the legislative Assembly of Chattisgarh from 88 – Dantewada (ST) Constituency.

(With ANI inputs)

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here