BS Yeddyurappa to take oath as Karnataka Chief Minister at 6 pm

Bengaluru: The political unrest in the state of Karnataka seems to have come to a rest as BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa is all set to take oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Friday at 6 pm. He made the announcement after his meeting the governor.

“I just met the Governor, I will take oath as Chief Minister today at 6 pm,” Yeddyurappa said.

Meanwhile, Yeddyurappa will have to prove majority in the assembly by July 31.

The move came in three days after the HD Kumaraswamy-led coalition failed a trust vote.

ALSO READ: Karnataka: Speaker disqualifies three rebel MLAs

Yeddyurappa’s last stint was just 48 hours long. Sworn in right after the Karnataka election in May last year that yielded no clear winner, he resigned just before a trust vote, knowing he didn’t have the numbers.

Earlier on Thursday, Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar announced the disqualification of Independent MLA R Shankar, who supported the government but switched sides.

The Speaker also disqualified MLAs Ramesh L Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumathalli, both belonged to the Congress and had resigned earlier this month.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here