PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony: High-profile guest list – all you need to know

Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, UNGA, United Nations General Assembly, New York, Hudson, Chicago, United States, US, Newsmobile, Mobile, News, India
File image

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be sworn in for a second consecutive term on Thursday, May 30, at Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi. The oath-taking ceremony will be administered by President Ram Nath Kovind to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council.

High-profile leaders and guests have been invited from around the world and across the nation to attend the oath-taking ceremony of the Prime Minister.

Where to watch swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi

Live telecast of the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Council of ministers can be seen on NewsMobile’ Facebook page on May 30 from 6.30 pm.

Here’s a list of all the high-profile guests expected to attend the May 30 event:

BIMSTEC member states

This year, the government has extended invitations to the member states of Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) which comprises Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Myanmar, apart from India. Bhutan PM Lotay Tshering, Thailand PM Prayut Chan-o-cha, Sri Lankan PM Ranil Wickremesinghe, Nepalese PM KP Sharma Oli and Myanmar Prime Minister Aung San Suu Kyi will be marking their presence on the event.


As per reports, the leaders of Mauritius and Kyrgyzstan are also expected to attend the oath-taking ceremony.

“Government of India has invited the leaders of the BIMSTEC Member States for the Swearing-in ceremony on May 30. This is in line with Government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy”, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said in a statement.

Key Ministers

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi as well as Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, JD(S) leader and Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, AAP leader and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and Andhra Pradesh CM (designate) YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, among others have been invited for the swearing-in ceremony of the Prime Minister and other ministers in the cabinet.

PM Modi met YSR Congress Party leader Jaganmohan Reddy, earlier this week

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee had initially confirmed that she will be attending the ceremony but later changed her mind and accused the BJP of using the august occasion to score political points by alleging political murders in the state.

Movie stars

As per reports, India’s superstar Rajnikanth and Kamal Haasan are expected to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

Mega stars of South India- Rajnikanth & Kamal Hassan

While the guest list from Bollywood is yet to come, some Bollywood stars are expected to mark their presence.

Who were invited in 2014 swearing-in ceremony-

In 2014, Narendra Modi had invited all SAARC leaders including the then Pakistan prime minister Nawaz Sharif for his swearing-in ceremony, in a major initiative to reach out to the neighbouring countries.

PM Modi’s oath taking ceremony (2014)

However, the invitation to BIMSTEC leaders for the event on Thursday is seen as an attempt to send a signal to Pakistan that India is not willing to engage with it.

The relationship between the two countries soured after the terror attack in Pathankot (2016) and the recent dreariest attack in Kashmir’s Pulwama.

Celebrities who were invited to the event included Salman Khan, Dharmendra, Anupam Kher, Madhur Bhandarkar, Suresh Gopi, Vivek Oberoi, Lata Mangeshkar, Rajnikanth and Amitabh Bachchan.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here