Naveen Patnaik, Pema Khandu to take oath as Odisha & Arunachal Pradesh CM today

Naveen Patnaik (L), Pema Khandu (R).

The Chief Minister-designates of Odisha and Arunachal Pradesh will take oath to office on Wednesday. Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik will be sworn-in as Odisha chief minister for a record fifth consecutive term at a public function in Bhubaneswar after an emphatic win in the state Assembly elections.

On the other hand, Bharatiya Janata Party leader Pema Khandu will also take oath as the chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the second term after his party won 41 seats in the 60-member Assembly in the recently concluded elections.

Informing about Khandu’s oath-taking ceremony, BJP leader Kiren Rijiju tweeted on Monday, “Pema Khandu will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh on May 29. Extend my gratitude to BJP MLAs for electing Khandu as the BJP legislature party leader.”

Before the swearing-in ceremony, Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal on Tuesday evening appointed 11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state on the recommendation of Patnaik.

ALSO READ: PM Modi, Amit Shah hold brainstorming meeting over new cabinet ahead of swearing-in

In the north-eastern state of Arunachal, BJP emerged as the single largest party by winning 37 out of 55 Assembly seats in the recently held polls.

While in Odisha, Patnaik has continued his grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, winning 112 Assembly seats in the 147-member House.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has overtaken Congress as the main opposition party by winning 23 seats. Congress has been able to bag only nine seats. In 2014 Assembly elections, BJD had got 117 seats while BJP 10. Congress had won 16 seats.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here