Election 2019 phase 5: Here’s the list of key candidates and constituencies

file image

In the fifth phase of voting, seven states comprising 51 Lok Sabha constituencies will vote in the Lok Sabha Election 2019 on May 6.

Voting will take place in some seats of Bihar (5), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Jharkhand (4), Madhya Pradesh (7), Rajasthan (12), Uttar Pradesh (14) and West Bengal (7). Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

There are 674 candidates contesting in this phase, including 12 per cent women, the highest so far. In phase five, Union minister Jayant Sinha, who is contesting from Hazaribagh, tops the list of candidates with the highest income – Rs 5.72 crore. While Poonam Sinha, who is making her political debut from Lucknow on a SP ticket, is the richest candidate with Rs 193 crore.

Key constituencies: Rae Bareli, Amethi, Lucknow, Jaipur Rural, Muzaffarpur, Hazaribagh, Sitamarhi, Alwar, Ranchi

State-wise list of constituencies

States Constituencies
Bihar (5) Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur
Jammu and Kashmir (2) Anantnag (in all polling stations falling in Shopian and Pulwama districts.), Ladakh
Jharkhand (4) Kodarma, Ranchi, Khunti, Hazaribagh
Madhya Pradesh (7) Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad, Betul
Rajasthan (12) Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, Nagaur
Uttar Pradesh (14) Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj, Gonda
West Bengal (7) Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uleberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag

Key candidates:

Sonia Gandhi Congress Rae Bareli
Rahul Gandhi Congress Amethi
Rajnath Singh BJP Lucknow
Smriti Irani BJP Amethi
Poonam Sinha SP Lucknow
Jayant Sinha BJP Hazaribagh
Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore BJP Jaipur Rural
Dr. Shakeel Ahmad Independent Madhubani


Here’s the full candidate list

ALSO READ: Elections 2019, fifth phase: 126 declared criminals, 184 crorepatis, 348 graduate candidates in fray

No. of seats major political parties won in 2014

  1. BJP – 282
  2. Congress – 44
  3. BSP – 0
  4. SP – 5
  5. AAP – 4
  6. CPI (M) – 9
  7. NCP – 6
  8. AIADMK – 37
  9. TMC – 34
  10. BJD – 20
  11. TDP – 16
  12. TRS – 11
  13. Shiv Sena – 18

Results for all the 543 Lok Sabha seats will be declared on May 23.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here