Elections 2019: BSP releases list of 16 candidates from Uttar Pradesh

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Sunday announced its fourth list of candidates for 16 parliamentary constituencies of Uttar Pradesh.

BSP has fielded Afzal Ansari, brother of jailed strongman-politician Mukhtar Ansari from Ghazipur constituency. Afzal will contest opposite union minister and BJP leader Manoj Sinha.

In the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, Afzal had defeated Sinha.

Meanwhile, the BSP has fielded Chandrabhadra Singh from Sultanpur, Ashok Kumar Tripathi from Pratapgarh, Ritesh Pandey from Ambedkar Nagar, Ramasheromani Verma from Shravast, Aftab Aalam from Dumariyanganj, Ramprasad Chaudhary from Basti, and Bhishm Shankar from Santkabir Nagar among others.

ALSO READ: Elections 2019: Cong fields Capt Ajay Singh Yadav from Gurugram, announces…

BSP has also fielded Vinod Kumar Jaiswal from Deoria, Sadal Prasad from Baansgao, Sangeeta from Lalgunj, Atul Rai from Ghoshi, RS Kushwaha from Salempur, Shyam Singh Yadav from Jaunpur, T Ram from Machhali Shahar and Rangnath Mishra from Bhadoi.

There are 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh where SP, BSP, and RLD are contesting in an alliance. The SP will contest on 37 seats, BSP on 38 and RLD on 3 seats. The alliance has left two seats, Rae Bareli and Amethi, for the Congress.

The 17th Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases from April 11 and will go on till May 19. The polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held in all seven phases. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

(With ANI inputs)

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here