Rahul, Priyanka to jointly address three rallies in Western UP on Monday

File photo

Congress president Rahul Gandhi and his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra are expected to address three rallies jointly in the western Uttar Pradesh, along with Congress general secretary in-charge for UP West Jyotiraditya Scindia on Monday.

The trio will hold rallies in Saharanpur, Shamli and Bijnor districts, where polling is scheduled to be held in the first phase on April 11.

While on Saturday, the Congress president will hold three rallies in Uttarakhand’s Pauri, Almora, and Haridwar.

As April 9 is the last day of campaigning, the principal opposition party has planned a mega show on April 8 where its recently-announced NYAY scheme and issues of women’s safety and sugarcane farmers will be highlighted, party sources said.

Apart from this, the party also plans to hold around 18 major rallies in the electorally crucial state that would be jointly addressed by the brother-sister duo, sources added.

Besides this, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is also likely to address a couple of poll rallies in Pilibhit and Kanpur that have sizeable Sikh voters.

A senior Congress leader said the venues of the rallies would be finalised soon, while mentioning that importance would be attached to constituencies where Congress candidates have a higher probability of winning the polls.

ALSO READ: Priyanka Gandhi is Ghaziabad’s selfie queen; draws big crowd

The locations being considered for rallies are Bareilly, Fatehpur Sikri, Aligarh, Lucknow, Faizabad, Barabanki, Kushinagar, Pratapgarh, Lakhimpur Kheri, Prayagraj, Gorakhpur, Kanpur, Varanasi, Jhansi, and Faizabad.

However, the Congress rallies in Varanasi and Lucknow, which are the constituencies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, respectively, would assume greater significance for the grand old party.

The seven-phase elections will begin from April 11 and end on May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Uttar Pradesh sends 80 lawmakers to the lower house of the parliament, for which polling will be held in all seven phases.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here