Elections 2019: Congress leaves 7 seats for Mayawati-Akhilesh alliance in UP

Raj Babbar, Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, RJD, Congress, Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad, Apna Dal, Gonda, Pilibhit, News Mobile, News Mobile India
Elections 2019: Congress leaves 7 seats for Mayawati-Akhilesh alliance in UP

The Congress has decided to leave Lok Sabha 7 seats for Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal alliance in Uttar Pradesh and the party will not be contesting on Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and the seats from where BSP chief Mayawati and RLD chief Ajit Singh will contest forthcoming parliamentary polls, Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Raj Babbar announced in a press briefing on Sunday.

ALSO READ: PM’s Twitter handle is now ‘Chowkidar Narendra Modi’; top BJP leaders follow suit

At the press conference Raj Babbar said, “We are leaving 7 seats vacant for SP, BSP and RLD. These include Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and whatever seats Mayawati ji & RLD’s Jayant ji and Ajit Singh contest from. We will also give two seats to Apna Dal – Gonda & Pilibhit.”

Babbar said, that the party had held discussions with the Mahan Dal earlier and the ally had said that they were fine with whatever seats the Congress gave them. “All they want is to contest the Vidhan Sabha elections. For the Lok Sabha elections they had said they’ll contest on our symbol. We’ll find out a way to work with them,” Babbar said.

Earlier today, Congress in-charge of eastern Uttar Pradesh Priyanka Gandhi reached Lucknow for a three-day visit in Uttar Pradesh to discuss poll strategy with party workers.

Uttar Pradesh will go to polls in all seven phases from April 11 to May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here