Indian elections from April 11, 900 million to vote, results on May 23

The Election Commission is holding a press conference in the national capital in which the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora is announcing the polling dates of the Lok Sabha elections.

Here are key Highlights:

– 900 million people will vote in the 2019 polls.

– VVPATS to be used with EVMs at all polling booths: CEC Sunil Arora

– Photo of the candidate also on EVMs to avoid voter confusion

– 84 million more voters will be casting their vote this time, compared to 2014

– There will be approximately 10 lakh polling stations in this Lok Sabha Elections as compared to 9 lakh polling stations in 2014

– The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into effect from today itself in the entire country. Any violation will be dealt with in the strictest manner: CEC SunilArora

– 1950 is the election helpline number to check your name and election related information

– All candidates to be required to give details on their social media accounts

– All content on social media to be governed by the election code of conduct

– Lok Sabha elections to be held in 7 phases.

– Phase one process starts from March 18. First phase poll date April 11. Date of counting 23 May

– Date of polling

Phase 1 11/04/2018
Phase 2 18/04/2018
Phase 3 23/04/2018
Phase 4 29/04/2018
Phase 5 06/05/2018
Phase 6 12/05/2018
Phase 7 19/05/2018

– Break up of 7 phases:

Phase 1: 91 (20 states)
Phase 2: 97 (13 states)
Phase 3: 115 (14 states)
Phase 4: 71 (9 states)
Phase 5: 51 (7 states)
Phase 6: 59 (7 states)
Phase 7: 59 (8 states)

PM Modi tweets aftethe r announcement of the poll dates:

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here