Hockey India releases 34 names for senior men’s camp

Hockey India on Saturday named 34 players for the senior men’s camp which is slated to commence on 18th February in Bengaluru at the Sports Authority of India (SAI), ahead of the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia, starting on March 23.

All 18 players who took part at the Hockey Men’s World Cup in Bhubaneswar last year have been retained for a month-long camp that concludes on March 18.

ALSO READ: Sindhu enters final; Nehwal, Kashyap in semifinal at Senior National Badminton Championships

The list also features Sultan of Johor Cup Silver-medal winning India Colts Shilanand Lakra, Suman Beck, Mandeep Mor, Yashdeep Siwach, Vishal Antil and Gursahabjit Singh who had figured in the 34-member camp for the 2018 World Cup. The youngsters have been credited for showing continued improvement and potential to match the standards at the senior level.

“The team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup will be selected from this core group of 34 players after a selection trial is held in Bengaluru in the last week of February. I am happy to note that the junior players who have recently been inducted into the Senior Camp have shown significant improvement and that the depth in the group is strong,” said high-performance director David John said.

ALSO READ: India vs Australia: BCCI announces squad for the T20I series

Goalkeepers PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera, and Krishan Bahadur Pathak have been named in the group along with Defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Jarmanpreet Singh, Pardeep Singh, Suman Beck, Mandeep Mor, Birendra Lakra and Rupinder Pal Singh.

Midfielders Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Sumit, Simranjit Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Yashdeep Siwach and Vishal Antil have been called up.

Among forwards, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Sumit Kumar, Gursahabjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra and SV Sunil have been named.

(With ANI inputs)

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here