Vidarbha lifts their second successive Ranji Trophy title

Defending champions Vidarbha retained their Ranji Trophy on Thursday by defeating Saurashtra by 78 runs in the clash in Nagpur. Left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate was the star bagging six wickets in his 24 overs in the second innings. He had picked up 5/98 in the first innings.

Chasing a target of 206, Saurashtra folded up for 127.  Vidarbha became only the sixth team in the tournament’s history to have defended the title and Faiz Fazal became the 11th captain to win two successive titles.


In the 85th Ranji title clash Sarwate dismissed Indian test star Cheteshwar Pujara, in both innings.

ALSO READ: Kiwis thrash men in blue line up; beat India by 80-runs in first T20

Off-spinner Akshay Wakhare provided the perfect support, claiming seven wickets in the match.

Vidarbha started the day on a positive note. Sarwate dismissed Kamlesh Makvana (14) who along with Vishvaraj Jadeja forged a 33-run stand for the sixth wicket.

Wakhare then dismissed Prerak Mankad (2) in the very next over and kept the pressure on with his tight line and length.

With this result, Saurashtra have now lost all the three Ranji Trophy summit clashes that they have played so far.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here