Battle For States Update: 59.43% voter turnout in Rajasthan while 56.17% in Telangana

BattleForStates, final, today, counting, 8 am, Congress, BJP, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, NewsMobile, Mobile, News, India
#BattleForStates final today, counting starts at 8 am

In the ongoing Rajasthan Assembly Election, 59.43% voter turnout was recorded in the state till 3 pm, while the turnout in Telangana stood at 56.17% till 3 pm.

Battle lines are drawn for assembly elections in Rajasthan and Telangana scheduled on Friday, security has been beefed up in both states and the polling will begin at 8 am.

In Rajasthan where BJP is in power with Vasundhara Raje as the Chief Minister, 2,873 candidates will be contesting this year for 200 constituencies.

While in Telangana a total of 1821 candidates are in the fray for 119 seats.

Quick Fact for Rajasthan Polls

Voting in 199 constituencies will begin at 8 AM and till 5 PM.

BJP and Congress are the main contenders in the Rajasthan assembly election 2018. Interestingly, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is also contesting the Rajasthan polls.

Voting will take place in 51,965 polling stations across the state.

Key Candidates in Rajasthan

Vasundhara Raje: The present Chief Minister of Rajasthan is representing the ruling BJP in the state Assembly since 2003. Raje is contest the elections from Jhalrapatan constituency from Rajasthan’s Jhalawar district. She has declared assets and properties worth Rs 4.54 crore with no criminal record.

Vasundhara Raje, rajasthan elections
Vasundhara Raje

Ashok Gehlot: The veteran Congress leader is the chief ministerial candidate who has served as the Chief Minister twice before. He in contesting from Jodhpur’s Sardarpura constituency. Reportedly, Gehlot declared that he and his wife only have Rs 30,000 cash in hand, but have movable and immovable properties worth Rs 6.44 crore.

Ashok gahlot, Rajasthan election 2018
Ashok Gehlot

Sachin Pilot: He is the son of former Union minister Rajesh Pilot who is the chief of state’s Congress unit. He has declared assets of over Rs 5 crore, with no criminal cases. Pilot is contesting state polls for the first time, from Rajasthan’s Tonk constituency.

Sachin Pilot, Rajasthan Elections 2018
Sachin Pilot

Manvendra Singh: He is the son of former BJP leader and external affairs minister Jaswant Singh who has recently crossed over from the BJP to the Congress just months ago. Singh is contesting from Jhalrapatan against incumbent chief minister Vasundhara Raje.

Manvendra Singh, rajasthan elections 2018
Manvendra Singh

Yoonus Khan: Currently he is state’s transport minister who has been fielded by the BJP from Tonk constituency against Sachin Pilot. He is the saffron party’s only Muslim candidate in the state.

Yoonus Khan, rajasthan bjp
Yoonus Khan

Gulab Chand Kataria: The present Home Minister of Rajasthan is contesting from Udaipur just like last three elections. Kataria is contesting against Girija Vyas of Congress.

Gulab Chand Kataria

Telangana legislative assembly was dissolved in September, more than 10 months before the expiry of its term, giving way to the early elections.


Quick Fact for Telangana Polls

Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh. In the first assembly poll, incumbent caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won 63 seats out of 119 with a vote share of 34%. The party gradually won over legislators from other parties, primarily Congress and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and eventually its share of seats went up to 90.

The state is witnessing a three-cornered fight between TRS, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the grand alliance of the Congress, TDP, Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Telangana Jana Samithi, all vying for the majority of seats. All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is also contesting polls at several assembly seats.

There are over 2 crore 80 lakh voters who would be exercising their franchise in tomorrow’s elections. The Election Commission has created 33,000 polling stations spread across 31 districts of the state. As many as 4.57 lakh divyangs or differently abled individuals will also exercise their franchise on December 7.

Dhana Kishore, Commissioner, Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC), told ANI that at every polling station sufficient ballot units are being arranged to avoid any inconvenience. The exercise of distribution of election ballots started early Thursday morning for 15 polling stations in Hyderabad.

“There are around 260 polling stations in Hyderabad region and each polling station will have one EVM and one VVPAT machines. EVMs are highly secured machinery. Already two training programmes have been organised for the officers and a third training programme is scheduled for Thursday. After the training, the officers will reach their polling stations,” said Kishore.

The administration has also made an online training video and has circulated it through WhatsApp for election officials.

GHMC Commissioner also informed that 98.67 per cent voters slips of the region have been distributed and the remaining voter slips will be kept with the returning officer.

It has been informed that the persons, with valid government ID proof, can vote, despite not having received the voter slip in advance, if their name is displayed in the voter’s list.

Polling will begin at 8 am and continue till 5 pm on Friday in both Rajasthan and Telangana.

Results for all the five state elections Rajasthan, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram will be declared on December 11.

(With ANI inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here