#MeToo: Women directors take a firm step, vow not to work with proven offenders

Eleven critically acclaimed women filmmakers have joined hands and said they will not work with proven offenders as a mark of their support to the #MeToo movement in India.

These directors include Alankrita Shrivastava, Konkana Sen Sharma, Gauri Shinde, Meghna Gulzar, Nandita Das, Zoya Akhtar, Nitya Mehra, Reema Kagti, Shonali Bose, Ruchi Narain and Kiran Rao.

“As women and filmmakers, we come together to support the #MeToolndia movement. We are in complete solidarity with the women who have come forward with honest accounts of harassment and assault. Our respect and admiration to them as their courage has started a revolution of welcome change,” their note said.

Urging others to do the same, the statement read, “We are here to spread awareness to help create a safe and equal atmosphere for all in the workplace. We have also taken a stand to not work with proven offenders. We urge all our peers in the industry to do the same.”

In the last few days, many big names from the Indian entertainment industry have cropped up in the cases of sexual harassment and misconduct. The #MeToo Movement gained velocity in India after Tanushree Dutta’s revelations about Nana Patekar.

Other celebrities whose names have come up are Rajat Kapoor, Subhash Kapoor, Alok Nath, Subhash Ghai, Vikas Bahl, Kailash Kher, Sajid Khan, Mukesh Chhabra.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here