Major bureaucratic reshuffle in Maharashtra

Bureaucratic reshuffle, Bureaucracy, Power Buzz, Appointment, NewsMobile, Mobile, News, central government, India
Representative Image

Mumbai: Senior bureaucrat Sunil Porwal has been appointed as the new home secretary of Maharashtra as the state government affected a major administrative reshuffle that saw the transfer of 12 IAS officers.

Porwal has been appointed Additional Chief Secretary (Home), replacing Sudhir Shrivastava, who was transferred to the Maharashtra Pollution Control Board (MPCB) as its chairman, according to a government order issued tonight.

Porwal, a 1983-batch IAS officer, was serving as Additional Chief Secretary (Industries).

The key appointment has been made at a time when Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who holds the Home portfolio, is on an official tour of the USA, Canada and Dubai.

Anil Diggikar, of the 1990 batch, who was serving as Officer on Special Duty and Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister, has been posted as Principal Secretary, Environment Department.

ALSO READ: Sharad Kumar appointed as the new Vigilance Commissioner

It was reported that Shrivastava was unhappy after being overlooked for the post of chief secretary, which went to D K Jain last month.

Speaking to PTI, Shrivastava, who is due to retire in October, said his appointment is for a period of three years from the date of joining.

Interestingly, Shrivastava’s transfer order came days after he went on a long leave after the appointment of Jain as the state’s top bureaucrat. Another reported claimant for the chief secretary’s post, Sumit Mullick, opted for voluntary retirement.

Asked if there was any link between his transfer order and long leave, Shrivastava replied in the negative. “The leave was not taken suddenly. It was pre-decided. The transfer has nothing to do with it.”

Among other transfters, 1985 batch officer Sitaram Kunte, Additional Chief Secretary, Higher and Technical Education Department, has been posted as Additional Chief Secretary (Personnel), General Administration Department.

Manoj Saunik (1987 batch), Principal Secretary (Transport and Ports), is the new Principal Secretary in Public Works Department, as per the order.

Ashish Kumar Singh (1988 batch), Principal Secretary, Public Works Department, has been posted as Principal Secretary, Transport and Ports.

M M Suryawanshi (2010) has been transferred and appointed Managing Director of the Maharashtra State Co-op Tribal Development Corporation, Nashik.

Sanjay Meena 2011), has been posted as Additional Tribal Commissioner, Thane.

S M Gavai (1984), Additional Chief Secretary, Environment Department, has been named Additional Chief Secretary, Industries, Energy and Labour Department.

Vandana Krishna (1985), Additional Chief Secretary (Reforms), Finance Department, has been shifted and named Additional Chief Secretary, School Education and Sports Department.

Nand Kumar (1989), Principal Secretary, School Education and Sports Department, has been named Principal Secretary and Chief Protocol Officer, General Administration Department.

Rajgopal Devara (1992), Principal Secretary and Chief Protocol Officer, General Administration Department, has been transferred and posted as Principal Secretary (Reforms), Finance Department, according to the order.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here