Unraveling the present day politics of Karnataka: an analysis

Brief Political History:

The country has not forgotten the charm of last loksabha elections yet and the clashes before the next poll are already making headlines every day. On the same lines, the fate of leaders in Karnataka will be decided on 12th May when the state will vote for its 16th assembly. The three major parties, Indian National Congress, Bhartiya Janta Party and Janta Dal (Secular) are at the forefront of the battle.

After independence, the Indian National Congress had a very strong presence in Karnataka, as it had on other states, due to the popularity of INC and J. L. Nehru. It was only in 1983 when Janta Dal won 95 seats in Karnataka assembly elections while INC got 82 and BJP managed 18 seats resulting in a hung assembly. Janta Dal united with other parties to form the first non-Congress government in the state. The time of the 90s was very dramatic in Indian politics and it was the moment when HD Devegowda left Janta Dal and formed Janta Dal (Secular).
With a major presence in Karnataka, JD(S) came up with a coalition government with Congress in 2004 and in 2006 Deve Gowda’s son HD Kumaraswamy merged with BJP to become the Chief Minister of the state. Followed by this, BJP and Congress gained the power in 2008 and 2013 respectively.

Caste and Religion Scenario:

In all these transitions, caste and religion have played a significant role in the state. Lingayats were demanding the status of different religion which is other than Hinduism while a section of the community, Veershaiva, were against the demand. The present Siddaramaiah government has given the status of a minority religion to Lingayats, though the Centre’s NDA government has refused to approve the same. Lingayats comprise 17% of the total population and can benefit 100 of the 224 assembly seats. The community has always supported BJP and the minority move came as a setback for BJP.

Pros and Cons for the Parties:

This election is the gateway to the south for BJP. BS Yeddyurappa has declared himself the chief-ministerial candidate without having the Karnataka BJP’s unqualified support. Now, the situation for Shah is very serious when it comes to the choice of CM from among KS Eshwarappa, Jagadish Shettar, DV Sadananda Gowda and Ananth Kumar in addition to Yeddyurappa. Also, NDA’s disapproval to Lingayats’ demands can reduce its votes share.
For the Congress, the upcoming elections are a big test as Karnataka is one of the four states where the party has a government. Lingayats had been a big vote bank for the BJP and the move to give them a minority religion may get some good news for Rahul Gandhi. Also, the party has to be careful in ticket distribution as there have been many allegations on the party leaders for unfair distribution in past two assembly polls.
For JD(S) the situation is more critical because if it loses the elections, it will surely be the end of the party with BJP and INC leading the government and opposition. Though currently Kumaraswamy is getting a great response and has gained enough popularity to be confident in the elections. HD Kumaraswamy is the sole fighter leading the party against BJP and Congress. For now, it is sure that Karnataka will set the path for 2019 when the results will be out on May 15.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here