Here’s the final list of BJP candidates for Gujarat Elections

BJP announced their candidates for the upcoming Gujarat Elections on Friday and the Gujarat’s CM and his deputy were among the 70 names declared for the two-phase state assembly elections starting December 9.

The meeting to finalise the names was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, home minister Rajnath Singh and party chief Amit Shah among others.

ALSO READ: PM Modi reviews performance of key infrastructure projects

The BJP has been facing resistance from the state’s powerful Patidar community that has been demanding a quota in education and government jobs. Experts, however, believe that the ruling party will retain the power in Gujarat.

Friday’s list signalled that the party would try to blunt some of that criticism by keeping its faith with prominent Patidar leaders, including deputy chief minister Nitin Patel who retains his constituency of Mehsana. Chief minister Vijay Rupani will contest from Rajkot West.

ALSO READ: Shiv Sena questions J-K’s terror attacks, blames PM Modi

The list also names five Congress rebels — Raghavji Patel (Jamnagar Rural), Dharmendra Jadeja (Jamnagar North), CK Raul (Godhra), Ramsinh Parmar (Thasra) and Mansinh Chauhan (Balasinor) — 16 candidates from the Patidar community and four women. It has retained 49 sitting MLAs.

Here’s the full list of candidates:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here