Have you ever sent a wrong message or picture in a wrong chat and left embarrassed? Well, its time to get relieved as WhatsApp has been teasing about the ability to recall or delete messages once they have been sent out. Well, if reports are to be believed, the social networking platform is currently in the midst of rolling of the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature for all its users.
The website claims, “Since today, users won’t have anymore this problem, because WhatsApp is finally rolling out for iOS, Android, Windows Phone users the possibility to recall messages, allowing you to definitely delete messages in chats and groups if the recipients have the latest WhatsApp version installed: this feature is now called Delete for Everyone.”
Delete for everyone will be rolled out again later. Wait about 12 hours 🙂
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) October 27, 2017
The platform adds that not only will this facility be available for text messages but also for images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, locations, status replies and a lot more!
Here’s everything you need to know!
- The feature does not work for in every circumstance, messages contained in a quoted message cannot be revoked.
- WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature allows users to delete messages sent in a broadcast list.
- The message, however, can only be deleted or recalled within the time frame of 5 minutes.
- The feature is only available if both the sender and receiver are using the updated version of the social networking platform.
- Another downfall of the feature is that it will not notify you on whether or not the message was successfully recalled. WABetaInfo wrote, “Note that WhatsApp won’t notify you if the message was successfully recalled or if it is failed for the reason above mentioned, also if you read in the bubble “This message was deleted for everyone”, that is only a simple indication.”
- While earlier it was reported that the social media giant will release the app in phases, the latest record states that it update has already incorporated in some accounts.
- If the feature is already enabled, the user will be able to use it also through WhatsApp Web/Desktop starting now.
How will the feature work?
The report states that WhatsApp will ask the user for whether they want to delete the message for everyone, for himself or simply cancel it out. On selecting, “Delete for All,” WhatsApp will sen out a fake copy of the message to the recipient. However, his or her phone will not show the notification and will not save it in the chat history either. “When you delete a message for everyone, your WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the recipient. When the recipient will receive your copy, this device won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history, but it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: if it will find the message, the message will be correctly revoked (if the recipients are using the latest version of WhatsApp).”