Ram Nath Kovind Vs Meira Kumar: The President of India to be announced today

President, Pranab Mukherjee, Meira Kumar, Ram Nath Kovind, India
Here's how the Indian President is elected

New Delhi: The D-day for the next President of India is here and it will be Ram Nath Kovind vs Meira Kumar as the Presidential counting will take place on Thursday, following which the fourteenth President of India will be announced.

The candidate who secures at least one vote more than 50% of the total votes will enter into the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Election was held on 17th of this month and around 99% voting was recorded.

ALSO READ: Here’s how the Indian President is elected

President Pranab Mukherjee will demit the office on July 25.

Congress-led opposition nominated Meira Kumar to face National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind for the presidential race.

  • Counting of votes began at 11 a.m. at the Parliament House. Ballot boxes, collected from all the states across India, have been locked inside the House. Results will be out by 5 p.m.
  • The votes will be counted on four separate tables and there would be eight rounds of counting
  • Counting will be held under the supervision of Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra, who is also the Returning Officer.
  • The presidential poll on Monday saw nearly 99 per cent voting, the highest ever, according to returning officer.
  • 32 polling stations including the one in Parliament House, were set up in various states. A total of 4,895 voters — 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs — were eligible to vote.
  • Madhya Pradesh Minister Narottam Mishra did not cast his vote as he was disqualified by the poll body over the allegations of “paid news”.
  • While the value of a legislator’s vote depends on the population of the state he or she belongs to, the value of a Member of Parliament’s vote remains the same at 708.
  • Ram Nath Kovind, 71, is a farmer’s son and his humble origins and simple lifestyle were stressed by BJP leaders. The former Bihar Governor has served two terms as a member of the Rajya Sabha. He is a trained lawyer who has appeared at the High Court and Supreme Court.
  • If elected, Ram Nath Kovind will be the second Dalit President of India after K R Narayanan.
  • Pitching the contest as a battle of ideologies, a 17-member bloc of opposition parties had announced former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar as their candidate.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee’s term ends on July 24 and the India’s 14th president will take oath the next day.

The Presidential election on July 17 saw 100 percent polling of 11 states. A total of 771 members of Parliament and 4,109 legislators were eligible to cast votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here