No ‘lal battis’ for ministers and babus; PM, Prez among few exempt

President, Prime Minister, Vice President, Chief Justice of India, Lok Sabha Speaker, VVIP racism, Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, beacons, lal battis

In a bid to tackle the VVIP racism, Prime Minister Narendra Modi led government on Wednesday banned ministers and government officials from using beacons or lal battis on their cars, say sources.

The new rule will come in act from May 1, no official or minister can use beacons.

The decision was reportedly taken at a cabinet meeting on Wednesday. PM Modi, say sources, was emphatic about banning “lal batti culture”.

ALSO READ: A government in abbreviations, Modi’s new governance code

Meanwhile, only five people will be exempted from the new rule and will be allowed to keep the beacon – the President, Prime Minister, Vice President, Chief Justice of India and the Lok Sabha Speaker.

Vehicles used in emergency services like ambulances and police vans can also use them.

ALSO READ: NewsMobile Reality Check: BJP get an edge in Delhi Civic polls

Chief ministers, state cabinet ministers, bureaucrats and judges of the High Court and Supreme Court will also be banned from using the lal batti.

ALSO READ: Babri Masjid: LK Advani, Uma Bharti, MM Joshi and others to face criminal conspiracy charges

Newly appointed Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh and Punjab-Yogi Adityanath and Amarinder Singh – had already given up use of the beacon on their official cars.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here