64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar and Neerja steals the show

National Film Awards jury, Priyadarshan., Rustom, Ileana D'Cruz, Akshay.X Amitabh Bachchan's Pink,The National Film Awards, Sonam Kapoor's Neerja

The National Film Awards were announced on April 7 in New Delhi and Sonam Kapoor’s Neerja was named the Best Hindi Feature Film while Akshay Kumar was proclaimed Best Actor for Rustom.

Tinu Suresh Desai’s Rustom was inspired by the 1959 Nanavati case and also featured Ileana D’Cruz opposite Akshay. This is Akshay Kumar’s first National award and the actor took to twitter and posted a heartfelt video;

Meanwhile, Amitabh Bachchan’s Pink was named the Best Film on Social Issues.

The National Film Awards jury was headlined by filmmaker Priyadarshan.

Here’s the list of winners: Best Hindi Feature Film: Neerja

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom

Also Read: Israel signs missile deal, will ‘Make In India’

Best Actress: Surabhi C M for Minnaminungu-The Firefly

Special Mention: Sonam Kapoor for Neerja


Best Picture: Kaasav


Best Director: Rajesh Mapuska for Ventilator

Best Film on Social Issues: Pink

Best Children Film: Dhanak

Best Popular Film: Sathamanam Bhavathi

Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim, ‘Dangal’



Also Read: WATCH: MS Dhoni’s ‘thug life’ moment when Kevin Pietersen tried to troll him


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here