10 Delhi metro stations to go ‘cashless’ from Jan 1

Paytm, Mangu Singh, Delhi Metro, cashless, cashless economy.
Paytm, Mangu Singh, Delhi Metro, cashless, cashless economy.

New Delhi: Ten stations of the Delhi Metro will go “cashless” from January 1 letting commuters recharge smart cards and buy tokens using digital platforms.

Metro said the decision has been taken to encourage people to embrace the Centre’s vision of a cashless economy.

DMRC Chief Mangu Singh said people will have the option to pay through mobile wallets such as Paytm in this regard.

ALSO READ: Ratan Tata says ‘definite move’ to damage his reputation

“The cashless transactions for token and smart card purchase or top up at these stations can be done through Paytm by using QR-code, which will be displayed at token counters or customer care centre of these stations,” Singh said.

However, initially, at least one counter will have the option of cash.

The stations where the measure will be rolled out are Rohini East and Rohini West on Red Line; MG Road Station on Yellow Line; Mayur Vihar Phase-I, Nirman Vihar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri West, and Noida Sector-15 on Blue Line; and Nehru Place and Kailash Colony on Violet Line.

“These stations have 70% or more smart card users as a result of which cash transactions here are moderate in comparison to other stations and have adequate mobile connectivity as well,” an official said.

Refunds, if any, will also be done through Paytm accounts instead of cash and users will receive the refunded amount within four days in their e-wallet.

ALSO READ: The Chavara family ditch the city to move into a village built by them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here