Ravichandran Ashwin bags ICC cricketer of year 2016 award

Ravichandran Ashwin, ICC cricketer of the year, Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli

India’s spearhead spin bowler and the number one test bowler in the world right now Ravichandran Ashwin bagged the award of ICC cricketer of the year award on Thursday. Ashwin made everybody feel his presence this year by his exceptional performance in all of the Test series played by India. While the captain of the Indian cricket Team Virat Kohli has been named as the ODI captain of the year by ICC.

ALSO READ: Ashwin, Jadeja occupy two top spots in ICC test bowling chart

Ashwin took astonishing 48 wickets in 8 test matches averaging just 15.46 this year. He also contributed with the bat scoring 336 averaging 46.

After being named ICC cricketer of the year, Ashwin got awarded prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy which makes him third Indian after Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar and 12th overall to achieve this honour.

ALSO READ: India register their longest unbeaten streak in test after beating England 4-0

He only played three ODIs this season but his performance in T20s was satisfactory where he took 27 wickets with a healthy economy of 6.09.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here