Curfew continues in five districts of Kashmir

Curfew, Kashmir
Curfew, Kashmir

Curfew remained in force in five districts of Kashmir and some parts of the summer capital as a precautionary measure as an uneasy calm prevailed in the Valley where normal life was paralysed for the 16th consecutive day on Sunday.

“Curfew is in force in four South Kashmir districts — Anantnag, Kulgam, Kupwara, Pulwama and Shopian and eight police station areas of Srinagar city as a precautionary measure,” a police official said.

He said while curfew has already been lifted from four districts — Bandipora, Baramulla, Budgam and Ganderbal, restrictions continue in these areas on the assembly of four or more persons.

The situation across the Valley is peaceful so far, he said.

Life in Kashmir has been paralysed since July 9, a day after Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani was killed in an encounter with security forces.

Separatist camp has been spearheading an agitation over the civilian killings and have called for a march to Anantnag town tomorrow.

The security grid has geared itself to ensure that the march does not take place, the police official said.

He said police and CRPF personnel, who have already been deployed in strength at vulnerable spots across the Valley, have been directed to implement the curfew and restriction in letter and spirit.

As many as 45 persons have been killed and over 3400 others injured in the violent clashes between protestors and security forces following Wani’s killing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here